You sent a message that you already regret… You will soon be able to remove it before it is read.
The good news is this functionality is coming to WhatsApp soon. Dubbed ‘Delete for Everyone’, the feature is currently in testing.
A Twitter profile focused on WhatsApp beta information suggests that it is working as intended, and merely needs to be enabled for users.
Currently when you press and hold a message you get the option only to delete it, but it is said that in the update you will also see options to edit or revoke the message.
Delete for Everyone will work with all types of WhatsApp messages, whether they are text messages, videos, images, GIFs or documents. It will also work on both iOS and Android.
However, in order for a message to be recalled it needs to have been sent in the past five minutes, and clearly it must be removed before the recipient has read it (before the two blue ticks appear).
This new feature appears after the implementation of the Stories, the ability to share photos of her daily life with her contacts.